Fred Mitchell Award News

Stay up to date with developments related to the award

14 kickers recognized in Oct. Watch List

The Fred Mitchell Award recognizes 14 place-kickers for their excellence on the football field during October and for continued community service off the field. It is a pleasure to recognize kickers that were nominated by their schools for terrific performances during the first month of the season. “I am pleased to see another impressive list of college kickers who excelled on and off the field in the month of October,” said Fred Mitchell. “Our esteemed selection committee looks forward to reviewing the performances of the eligible candidates this season and naming the 2016 winner next month.”

The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award will be announced in mid-December based on performance on the football field and in the community.

The breakdown of the 14 place-kickers is as follows:

  • Collegiate Division – 2 FCS, 4 Division II, 7 Division III, and 1 NAIA
  • State – the place-kickers play at schools located in 10 different states
  • Year – 6 Seniors, 5 Juniors, and 3 Sophomores

In alphabetical order, the Fred Mitchell Award Watch List honorees for 2016 are listed below.

  • MATT DAVIS: UNC Pembroke – Division II
  • WYATT FORD: Ferris State University (Mich.) – Division II
  • JOE FRENCH: Ohio Northern University – Division III
  • WILL GINGERY: Wittenberg University (Ohio) – Division III
  • TYLER KNIGHTON: Rowan University (N.J.) – Division III
  • NATHAN KNUFFMAN: Western Illinois University (Ill.) – Division I (FCS)
  • ALEX LOUTHAN: University of Mount Union (Ohio) – Division III
  • ABDUL MAHDI: Saint Xavier University (Ill.) – NAIA
  • WESLEY MEDEIROS: Norwich University (Vt.) – NCAA Division III
  • DREW PEARSON: University of Wisconsin – Stout – Division III
  • ISSAC ROBINSON: Frostburg State University (Md.) – Division III
  • JONAS SCHENDERLEIN: Concordia University, St. Paul (Minn.) – Division II
  • BRAD SCHICKEL: University of Indianapolis (Ind.) – NCAA Division II
  • WILLIAM WILL: University of Dayton (Ohio) – FCS