Fred Mitchell Award News

Stay up to date with developments related to the award

16 kickers recognized in Sept. Watch List

The Fred Mitchell Award recognizes 16 place-kickers for their excellence on the football field during September and for continued community service off the field. It is a pleasure to recognize kickers that were nominated by their schools for terrific performances during the first month of the season.

The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award will be announced in mid-December based on performance on the football field and in the community. Details are provided at

The breakdown of the 16 place-kickers is as follows:

  • Collegiate Division – 3 FCS, 5 Division II, 5 Division III, 1 NAIA, and 2 NJCAA
  • State – the place-kickers play at schools located in 13 different states
  • Year – 6 Seniors, 4 Juniors, 2 Sophomores, and 4 Freshman

In alphabetical order, the Fred Mitchell Award Watch List honorees for 2016 are listed below:

  • MILES BERGNER: University of South Dakota – FCS
  • BLAINE BURSEY: Worcester Polytechnic Institute (Mass.) – Division III
  • GRANT CLEMONS: Georgia Military College – NJCAA
  • BILLY DEANE: Shippensburg University (Penn.) – Division II
  • WYATT FORD: Ferris State University (Mich.) – Division II
  • WILL GINGERY: Wittenberg University (Ohio) – Division III
  • MATTHEW HAITE: Stonehill College (Mass.) – Division II
  • NATHAN KNUFFMAN: Western Illinois University – FCS
  • DRAKE McCARTER: Northwest Mississippi CC – NJCAA
  • ABDUL MAHDI: Saint Xavier University (Ill.) – NAIA
  • DREW PEARSON: University of Wisconsin – Stout – Division III
  • KRAMER RATH: Nebraska Wesleyan University (Neb.) – Division III
  • ISAAC ROBINSON: Frostburg State University (Maryland) – Division III
  • TYLER VARGAS: Western New Mexico University – Division II
  • WILLIAM WILL: University of Dayton (Ohio) – FCS
  • CARSON WISE: Carson-Newman University (Tenn.) – Division II