Fred Mitchell Award News

Stay up to date with developments related to the award

2016 award finalists, All-Americans announced

Ten finalists have been named for the 2016 Fred Mitchell Award designated as Fred Mitchell Award All-Americans. The Fred Mitchell Award is provided to the Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, NAIA or NJCAA place-kicker that excels on the football field and in the community. The place-kicker chosen for this Award will be announced on December 13, and he will be honored on February 20, 2017 at the National Football Foundation Chicago Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall in suburban Chicago.

There were 28 place-kickers nominated for this Award. The breakdown of the 10 finalists is as follows:

  • Collegiate Division – 3 FCS, 3 Division II, 4 Division III, 0 NAIA, 0 NJCAA
  • State – the place-kickers play at schools located in 10 different states
  • Year – 5 Seniors, 2 Juniors, 3 Sophomores, 0 Freshmen

In alphabetical order, the 10 finalists for the 2016 Fred Mitchell Award are listed below:

  • COLE ANTLEY — Ouachita Baptist University (Arkansas) – Division II
  • MILES BERGNER — University of South Dakota – FCS
  • MATT DAVIS — University of North Carolina at Pembroke – Division II
  • WYATT FORD — Ferris State University (Michigan) – Division II
  • WILL GINGERY — Wittenberg University (Ohio) – Division III
  • NICK MADONIA — Tennessee Tech – FCS
  • DAVID MARVIN — Wofford College (South Carolina) – FCS
  • DREW PEARSON — University of Wisconsin-Stout – Division III
  • KRAMER RATH — Nebraska Wesleyan University – Division III
  • TYLER STOLEN — Buena Vista University (Iowa) – Division III